Roustabout.wordpress.com


I have a plan (undertaking a knitting project)
Wednesday, August 23, 2006, 9:20 am
Filed under: Knitting

I was inspired by a project started by Germaine Koh’s “Knitwork” which she has been working on for 14 years, and the idea of freeform knitting and I wanted to do something like it in my own way. See, I’m a big believer that knitting is art. Even if you’re only knitting a scarf, look at it as art, and it’ll become it. Then of course, there are far more outlandish ways to create art with knitting, and that is what I intend to do.

The themes: knitting as memory, knitting as art, knitting as unstoppable.

Knitting as memory – each thing that you knit is a snapshot of you at that point in time. It is a piece of work that demonstrates not only your skill, but your favourite colours and you at that exact point in time.

Knitting as art – Knitting can be whatever you make it. Something to warm a loved one, something to share, something to create just for the sake of creating it. To me, it’s art.

Knitting as unstoppable – Once you become a knitter I’m a firm believer that you don’t ever stop. You’re a knitter for life, even if you may take a break for a few years.

What I intend to do is give every odd-ball a home that I can. I want to create something huge, in a freeform knitting style, made completely out of oddballs and the ends of balls/skeins/hanks/whatever. That yarn that you have sitting in your stash that you have no clue what to do with because there isn’t enough to do anything with, I want to take and incorporate into this huge piece of work.

If anybody decides they want to donate they’re odds ‘n ends, I will take tags and affix them to all the areas of the freeform knit with the name, address (email or otherwise), and location of the person that donated that yarn. I want the whole world represented here.

I have already started on this project with my own odds ‘n ends. There will always be knitting done on it, and I never plan to actually bind it off or have needles not on it. I want to continue on with it until I’m 80 years old and sitting on a veranda with this massive piece of work.

If you’re interested in helping out, please leave a message here with your email address. The comments are moderated, so if you don’t want your email address on the website, please just say so in the comment and I will edit it out.

Thank you in advance to all of those who wish to help.

It’s still very small, but here’s the beginning:

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have a few odd balls sitting around that I’d like to send.
Great project.

Comment by fiberfetish

Cosmic. I’ve been thinking the same thing lately and started a little project of my own. I don’t know how well it will pan out, but I’m of the same mindset that knitting can be an artistic medium and not just something to create sweaters and cozies from. I look forward to seeing what you come up with!!

Comment by Bezzie

Thanks fibrefetish and Bezzie!

Bezzie – I look forward to seeing what you create. I’m glad I’m not the only one who sees knitting as an artistic medium. We’ll start the revolution!

Comment by Kelly

What a very cool idea… I’m not a knitter but for some reason bookmarked your blog because I just liked it. Now you have this project that is so interesting on so many levels. I look forward to seeing what transpires! Best Wishes.

Comment by pbsweeney

Thank you very much PBSweeny!

Comment by Kelly

just brilliant

Comment by Heather

Fantastic mindset! I love what your doing! I knew there was a reason for enjoying your blog!
Cheers Doll!

Comment by che l




Leave a Reply

