Roustabout.wordpress.com


Knitting project, and why I need to not be so industrious.
Tuesday, August 29, 2006, 2:29 pm
Filed under: Digression, Knitting

Here’s the current neverending knitting project (click here to read about it). As much as I’d like to be working more quickly on it, two things come to mind:

1. It’s not about speed; and
2. My wrist has been bothering me and that makes it hard for me to knit.

Not to mention, I do have that pesky honeymoon camisole redux that I’ve been working on for a month. Not to say that the pattern is pesky or the fact that it isn’t a fun, easy, and quick knit. But you know sometimes you start something and you’re so excited, then your mind changes and it just goes on the backburner? I love this cami, I want to finish it, but it’s hard for me lately to stay on any projects that are large.

Funny I say that as I begin to create something that will become massive and neverending – but really that to me is a thousand little projects – each unfinished skein is a project and once the skein is done the project is done until I join the next one.

But enough jibber-jabber, here’s the progress photo:

I need a name for the project. Badly. But I’m so poor with titles, it might take a while. Do you have a suggestion? Leave me a comment.

I plan on hurrying up that cami over the next week and hopefully finishing it. Not only will it be one thing I can check off the list, but also I’ll have a wonderful new cami to wear.

That all being said, today I woke up in a foul mood.

Okay, that’s actually a lie.

I woke up in a fine mood, but thanks to a series of unfortunate events first thing in the morning (before the caffeine had hit my system) that turned my mood sour before I had even left the house. Currently I’m feeling a little better, but my industrious project for the day has been striken from my list of things “to do”. This is not because it got done, but rather because I don’t have the patience to finish it.

See, I’m a collector of postcards. I send and receive postcards from people all over the world with the aid from a few online communities (Postcrossing, Postcardx, etc.). I’ve been collecting postcards for a few years now and have amassed quite a collection. Today I decided it’d be a good idea to scan all of the postcards and save them.

Less than halfway done and two hours later, I’m cursing my scanner for not being faster and my poor computer set up (due to the lack of a desk right now) for the pain in my neck and the fact that I’m nowhere close to being done. So that’s it, I’m not scanning my postcards. They’ll just have to stay in the analog world.

They actually generally live on my wall in a wonderful and large collage, but since the move of cities, I haven’t yet had the chance to put them all back up. That’ll get done… at some point.

I’ve prattled on enough. Now it’s time for lunch, and possibly and old movie. If I feel the urge, I might get to sewing that skirt today.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I hate it when days go south so early, hopefully today will go better for you.

As for the wrist pain, I too developped this and learned continental knitting which seems to have helped a lot as it is apparently more ergonomic or something…

Comment by SP




Leave a Reply

